The onward journey

Standard

The outward journey 

I recently had to travel by train to visit my parents.

The onward journey

The onward journey.  I had had reserved my seat and dutifully sat in my allocated seat. The train stopped at a variety of stations on route and no one came and sat beside me. I was surprised as there were three other seats around the table I was sitting on with reserved seats.

I have to confess my mind started wondering about who was meant to sit in these seats. Had they slept in, missed a connection it just did not want to be on the train making that specific journey? Eventually a lady came and sat beside me and we started a conversation asking the same question as there were several empty reserved seats in the carriage.

This last year has been one of the worse of our lives. We are travelling a journey we definitely did not plan. I am just glad that I know God is with me on this journey. He is certainly a God who understands suffering.

Are you on a journey you didn’t plan? What has changed things for you? Redundancy, chronic illness or loss?

I know know this is not the trip I planned but I am glad of the companionship and that I have reserved my seat on this journey of a lifetime

Leave a comment